Thoughts in the mind of a scatter brained workaholic single mom

Adoption Questions From the Heart


I grew up with a sister six month younger than me.  She was the miracle love child in my mom’s eyes. My parents were not supposed to be able to conceive according to the Doctor’s of that era.  My mom had been married from the age of 25 and had just one natural-born son thus far.   She had been to doctors to find out why she could not conceive. My dad was diagnosed with being low sperm count.  My parents adopted a baby boy six years after the first-born.  Six years later my mom mourned for specifically baby girl. They applied for specifically baby girl this time.  Parents continued to try to conceive on their own because they had very little hope of being able to adopt a second baby. 

 Well  the miracle happened and mom became pregnant.  I never could understand why my mom that is so highly religious never had faith enough to believe God gave her the baby girl she desired.  I say she is religious because upon graduation from highschool ; she hopped a train. Her dad was a train engineer.  She went to California all the way from Arkansas to bible college.  It was the only four-square church bible college I believe at that time.  My mom has some kind of degree in bible theology.  To me she was just religious, meaning  a form of Godliness denying the power there of.  I  came to that conclusion because when I was pregnant myself I asked God for daughter with curly brown hair with curly eyelashes like her father  and skin like a porcelain doll. I believed God would not give me anything less than the desire of my heart and he did exactly everything I asked for. My mom blatantly did not trust God to even give her a girl much less anything else.  I presume that given the fact that she adopted me on the premise that she wanted to be certain she gets a girl.  She adopted me at a time when she was pregnant and had even forgotten all about applying for the adoption.     You may ask how do I know this?  Because I have asked her about this so many times. When you are adopted you have an unsatiatable curiosity about where you came from and why and whatforths that carry you throughout life to always question your existence.  I don’t know how else to explain it.  I presume again that anyone who does not know their roots can concur what I am talking about.

Well  I was the favorite baby girl for less than six months.  I was already 2 weeks old when my parents brought me home from the hospital.  The youngest picture my parents have of me is 2 months?  I never understood that either.  How can you bring a newborn home for the first time and not take a picture?  I have questioned whether I was actually 2 months rather than 2 weeks old because of this fact.  My mom was a pictureaholic in those days. 

Its weird the way my adoption papers read.  It’s like my birthday is not even correct.  It’s a mystery from day one of my life.  Well after my miracle love child sister was born February 14, 1971 my mom only felt obligated to keep me. You may ask why do I say this?  Because as a  teenager my mom repeatedly said to me, “ Lori Ann I am obligated to provide a roof over your head, clothes on your back, food in your stomach and when you turn 18 I am no longer obligated to do those things”    To me I felt clearly unwanted by her. This is why I always asked her why she adopted me why?????????? Not only that I am of mixed race and she so clearly is racist it is so ironic.  I look so different from any of my cousins they all have blond hair and blue eyes the shortest of any of them is like 5’9. I am 5’2”  with hair so black children would make fun of me as a child and say my hair looked blue in the sunlight,  with natural tanned skin, brown eyes so dark you can barely see my pupil.  Seems like to me I was actually a last desperate ditch effort to obtain a baby girl by any means possible.

This is my story of how I came to be. I have dug deeper and am trying to discover how and what were the reasons I was given away by my birth-mom. I always used to dream of her rocking me in a rocking chair, singing sweetly to me, telling me my name and how much she loves me, in her hospital room, right after birth, right before; I was snatched away.

The name given to me is one of a kind. The meaning of the name Doreen is Gift from God. It sucks that my adopting mom gave me a name shared by who knows how many? Google Lori Schreiner and lots and lots of people show up, who are not even related.  I even have a facebook friend Lori Ann Schreiner. She laughs too about having german last name and dark brown hair.  

Google me, just me. Doreen Van Assen googled I am the only one.  I used to google these names daily even before blogging or writing in search of clues to my birth family.   This one little thing that my birth mom did, makes me feel so special, in her eyes, that I have never seen.

106 responses

  1. Hi!
    read some of your blog entries and it is really hard for me to understand how you find time to maintain a blog while working as a dialysis nurse.
    Good luck!

    July 29, 2010 at 9:49 am

    • I only work three days a week. Writing is a passion of mine that I have put off for a long time because of lack of time. I just recently started the blog. Happened on a blog by accident one day I googled scams because my account now card was not working properly. A post came from Daisy Brain about e-mail scammers that was hilarious. First blog I ever read lol. Now I am hooked.

      July 29, 2010 at 10:52 am

  2. M.A.P

    Although this represents one party’s opinions, I feel mom has probably given you sufficient reasons for your conclusions. I know quite a few parents who treat their biological kids much better than their step kids. Some don’t seem to realize what they’re doing, while other parents are quite blatant with their favortism. It’s sad. I hope your parents can offer you closure someday.

    July 31, 2010 at 11:25 am

  3. Keeley Kossak

    I simply want to mention I am just newbie to blogging and site-building and actually savored your web site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You amazingly come with awesome article content. Thanks a bunch for sharing your web site.

    October 15, 2011 at 10:03 am

  4. Lamar Furlone

    I just want to tell you that I am just very new to blogging and site-building and actually liked you’re blog site. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your blog . You surely come with awesome writings. Regards for sharing your web site.

    October 15, 2011 at 10:03 am

  5. how do i make my hair grow faster

    I just want to tell you that I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and honestly enjoyed your web blog. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your blog post . You definitely come with incredible stories. Thanks a bunch for revealing your blog.

    October 19, 2011 at 4:52 pm

  6. how can you make your hair grow faster

    I just want to tell you that I’m newbie to blogging and site-building and honestly loved this page. Probably I’m going to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with good writings. Thank you for sharing your webpage.

    October 20, 2011 at 11:18 am

  7. Tom Smalt

    It does matter who posted because it is an epitome of fame

    October 27, 2011 at 12:31 am

  8. Darrick Bleiweiss

    Your blog is so full of interesting facts and topics, so do you, your interesting too

    October 27, 2011 at 5:15 am

  9. Marylyn Kandoll

    I respect the fact that I cant contradict your posts, but please make them as clear as crystal

    October 27, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  10. handbags high quality cheap hermes

    After research just a few of the blog posts in your website now, and I truly like your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site record and can be checking again soon. Pls try my website online as nicely and let me know what you think.

    October 28, 2011 at 5:24 am

  11. Fahrrad günstig

    Can I just say what a relief to search out someone who truly is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You undoubted know the way to convey a difficulty to gentle and make it important. Extra people have to read this and perceive this side of the story. I cant consider youre no more standard since you positively have the gift.Regards Florian

    October 28, 2011 at 9:10 am

  12. günstig Fahrrad kaufen

    Can I just say what a reduction to find someone who truly knows what theyre speaking about on the internet. You undoubted know methods to carry an issue to gentle and make it important. Extra folks need to read this and perceive this side of the story. I cant believe youre no more popular because you positively have the gift.Regards Anton

    October 28, 2011 at 9:24 am

  13. hermes luggage 2010

    After research just a few of the blog posts in your website now, and I truly like your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site record and will likely be checking again soon. Pls try my website as well and let me know what you think.

    October 28, 2011 at 9:29 am

  14. suntrustonlinebanking

    I’m just commenting to make you understand of the perfect encounter my child developed reading your site. She learned a lot of things, including what it is like to have an excellent helping heart to make certain people quite simply completely grasp specified grueling subject areas. You undoubtedly exceeded our expectations. I appreciate you for supplying these valuable, trustworthy, edifying and as well as easy tips about the topic to Jane.

    October 29, 2011 at 2:04 am

  15. local seo services

    you got a very excellent website, Glad I discovered it through yahoo.

    October 29, 2011 at 4:41 am

  16. crib mattress reviews

    Valid points, and well written

    October 29, 2011 at 9:29 pm

  17. Garage Storage

    Thanks for the great read

    October 30, 2011 at 12:35 am

  18. sakuraba tshirt

    Hello! I am about to start my own blog and was wondering if you know where the best place to acquire a website url is? I’m not even sure if that’s what its known as? (I’m new to this) I’m referring to “https://l0oree.wordpress.com/2010/07/28/adoption-questions-from-the-heart/?like=1“. Exactly how do I go about acquiring one of these for the website I’m building? Thank you

    October 30, 2011 at 8:13 am

  19. What i don’t understood is in reality how you are no longer actually much more well-liked than you may be right now. You are so intelligent. You know therefore considerably on the subject of this topic, produced me personally imagine it from a lot of varied angles. Its like men and women don’t seem to be interested until it’s one thing to do with Woman gaga! Your personal stuffs outstanding. At all times care for it up!

    October 30, 2011 at 9:44 am

  20. I have not checked in here for a while since I thought it was getting boring, but the last handful of posts are really good quality so I guess I’ll add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend. 🙂

    October 30, 2011 at 10:06 am

  21. I was lucky enough to trip upon this and was rewarded with great information

    October 30, 2011 at 10:16 am

  22. You missed the fact that your posts only work to those who have bad days when they was little

    October 30, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  23. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was once a amusement account it. Look advanced to far introduced agreeable from you! However, how can we keep in touch?

    October 30, 2011 at 2:22 pm

  24. Admiring the time and energy you put into your website and in depth information you provide. It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same unwanted rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    October 30, 2011 at 4:17 pm

  25. Thanks for taking the time to publish this

    October 30, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  26. An fascinating discussion is value comment. I believe that you should write more on this matter, it won’t be a taboo subject but generally people are not sufficient to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    October 31, 2011 at 12:07 am

  27. An fascinating dialogue is price comment. I think that it’s best to write more on this subject, it might not be a taboo topic however typically individuals are not enough to speak on such topics. To the next. Cheers

    October 31, 2011 at 5:26 am

  28. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

    October 31, 2011 at 12:05 pm

  29. I besides think therefore , perfectly pent post! .

    October 31, 2011 at 8:02 pm

  30. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

    October 31, 2011 at 10:07 pm

  31. gps

    interesting points, food for thought

    November 1, 2011 at 1:57 am

  32. Are you a student? How much did you spend just by maintaining your blog?

    November 1, 2011 at 3:10 am

  33. great article, i will be checking this blog regularly

    November 1, 2011 at 4:40 am

  34. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

    November 1, 2011 at 7:25 am

  35. I was just seeking this information for some time. After six hours of continuous Googleing, at last I got it in your site. I wonder what’s the lack of Google strategy that do not rank this kind of informative web sites in top of the list. Generally the top websites are full of garbage.

    November 1, 2011 at 9:57 am

  36. Heya i’m for the primary time here. I came across this board and I in finding It really useful & it helped me out much. I am hoping to offer one thing again and aid others such as you aided me.

    November 1, 2011 at 10:25 am

  37. I simply could not leave your site prior to suggesting that I really loved the standard info an individual provide to your visitors? Is going to be again regularly to inspect new posts

    November 1, 2011 at 12:02 pm

  38. Glad I observed this on google .

    November 1, 2011 at 2:14 pm

  39. Great paintings! This is the type of info that are supposed to be shared across the internet. Shame on Google for now not positioning this post higher! Come on over and consult with my website . Thank you =)

    November 1, 2011 at 4:04 pm

  40. some truly prime articles on this internet site , saved to favorites .

    November 1, 2011 at 5:50 pm

  41. Is there any chance that you can post here your biography? So that we will know you more

    November 2, 2011 at 6:59 pm

  42. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

    November 2, 2011 at 7:47 pm

  43. hi. I observe that you’re focused on how to make your hair grow faster

    November 2, 2011 at 8:52 pm

  44. I just want to tell you that I am just new to blogs and seriously enjoyed this website. More than likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You definitely come with impressive stories. Appreciate it for revealing your web page.

    November 2, 2011 at 10:46 pm

  45. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more from this post. I am very glad to see such fantastic information being shared freely out there.

    November 2, 2011 at 11:19 pm

  46. Will you go beyond what you have posted? I mean, people sometimes just post what they want to post without proving it

    November 3, 2011 at 12:01 am

  47. Top-notch info it is actually. I have been awaiting for this information.

    November 3, 2011 at 2:50 am

  48. great article, i will be checking this blog regularly

    November 3, 2011 at 2:52 am

  49. Great post, I believe website owners should acquire a lot from this website its rattling user friendly .

    November 3, 2011 at 11:04 am

  50. heya. I notice that you were involved in hair growth tips

    November 3, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  51. First-class story it is actually. We have been awaiting for this info.

    November 3, 2011 at 12:44 pm

  52. Hey there, You have performed a great job. I will definitely digg it and in my opinion suggest to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this site.

    November 3, 2011 at 1:06 pm

  53. some truly interesting points you have written.

    November 3, 2011 at 1:51 pm

  54. Its like you read my thoughts! You appear to grasp so much approximately this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I feel that you simply could do with a few p.c. to drive the message house a little bit, however instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

    November 4, 2011 at 3:47 am

  55. Hello! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the great info you have here on this post. I will be coming back to your blog for more soon.

    November 4, 2011 at 9:59 am

  56. Good write-up, I’m normal visitor of one’s website, maintain up the nice operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a lengthy time.

    November 4, 2011 at 8:39 pm

  57. Awesome. We need more sites with this very useful info. Thanks.

    November 4, 2011 at 10:20 pm

  58. I hoped much more from this article. I found it on Bing and hoped it will be more informative

    November 4, 2011 at 11:50 pm

  59. Great blog, you guys did a good job

    November 5, 2011 at 3:47 am

  60. Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this information. Nowadays bloggers publish just about gossips and web and this is really irritating. A good website with interesting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Cant find it.

    November 5, 2011 at 8:02 pm

  61. Hi, you have a cool web site. I’ll bookmark it and come back in the future. Thank you.

    November 5, 2011 at 10:49 pm

  62. If you are unsure about the quality of your work, you need to first understand what quality is.- Byron Pulsifer

    November 6, 2011 at 1:02 am

  63. I loved up to you will receive carried out right here. The comic strip is attractive, your authored material stylish. nevertheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you want be handing over the following. in poor health indubitably come more before once more since exactly the same just about a lot often inside of case you shield this increase.

    November 6, 2011 at 3:52 am

  64. Every guy of action features a strong dose of egoism, pride, firmness, and crafty. But all those points is going to be regarded as higher features if they can get them to the way to accomplish great finishes. Charles signifiant Gaulle

    November 6, 2011 at 5:19 am

  65. I used to be recommended this web site via my cousin. I am no longer certain whether or not this put up is written through him as no one else realize such specific about my trouble. You’re amazing! Thanks!

    November 6, 2011 at 7:13 am

  66. I like this site very much so much fantastic info .

    November 6, 2011 at 10:16 am

  67. I cherished what you might have performed here. The page layout is exquisite, your authored content elegant. Nonetheless, you have bought an edginess to what that you are offering the next. Unwell totally arrive back again once more for substantially additional in situation you protect this up. Dont do away with hope if not at the same time a few men and women see your perspective, know you will have attained a fan appropriate the next who beliefs what you’ve acquired to say along with all the way you could have offered yourself. Very good on you!

    November 6, 2011 at 10:36 am

  68. Wow, awesome blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, as well as the content!

    November 6, 2011 at 2:14 pm

  69. Eventually, I proven the understanding I was seeking out for. We have now been carrying out studying on this subject, and for 4 days I protect acquiring web-sites that are meant to have what I’m hunting for, only to become disappointed working with the loss of what I wished. I wish I could have found your websites sooner! I had about 25% of what I utilized to become in need to have of and your web page has that, plus the rest of what I necessary to finish my researching. We’ve got activated to this site suitable right here I like that you simply will discover unique post information that you’ll be ready to hardly find out elsewhere. A single excellent thing, you perhaps can get hold of nevertheless these sorts of blogs, make certain you go on! I can no for a longer time see the well-known media. It can be there lots rubbish printed, I bear it no very much a lot more quickly. A certainly pleasant website and excellent write-up. I invest days within the entire world wide web studying blogs, about tons of several subjects. I have to original of all give kudos to whoever established your websites and second of all to you for composing what i can only describe as an publish. I honestly consider there’s a capability to writing articles or blog posts or blog site threads that only a couple of posses and frankly you may have it. The mixture of insightful and excellent subject material is definitely exceptionally hard to find working with the enormous quantity of web throughout the on the net globe.Usually hold a very good give great outcomes!

    November 6, 2011 at 2:17 pm

  70. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website, how can i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a appropriate deal. I have been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided shiny clear idea

    November 6, 2011 at 5:29 pm

  71. Amazing work you did here, I’m happy I’ve found this site!

    November 6, 2011 at 8:04 pm

  72. Hi there, You have done an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and individually recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

    November 6, 2011 at 9:11 pm

  73. Amazing work you did here, I’m happy I’ve found this site!

    November 7, 2011 at 12:22 am

  74. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really smartly written article. I¡¦ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your useful information. Thank you for the post. I will certainly return.

    November 7, 2011 at 4:42 am

  75. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in reality used to be a enjoyment account it. Look complicated to far delivered agreeable from you! By the way, how could we keep in touch?

    November 7, 2011 at 5:03 am

  76. keep up the wonderful piece of work, I read few content on this site and I think that your weblog is very interesting and holds lots of superb info .

    November 7, 2011 at 9:36 am

  77. mp3

    Thanks for the good writeup. It in reality was a entertainment account it. Glance advanced to far delivered agreeable from you! However, how can we keep in touch?

    November 7, 2011 at 10:28 am

  78. Hello there, You have done a fantastic job. I¡¦ll definitely digg it and individually suggest to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

    November 7, 2011 at 11:52 am

  79. I love the efforts you have put in this, thankyou for all the great posts .

    November 7, 2011 at 12:22 pm

  80. Excellent beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a appropriate deal. I were tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vivid transparent concept

    November 7, 2011 at 2:49 pm

  81. If you speak of which, whatever it be, you must label it with respect in your posts

    November 7, 2011 at 2:51 pm

  82. Hello, i believe that i saw you visited my blog thus i came to ¡§return the choose¡¨.I am trying to in finding issues to improve my web site!I assume its adequate to use some of your concepts!!

    November 7, 2011 at 2:52 pm

  83. שירות מיוחד השוואת מחירי הובלות הוא בהחלט טוב בשבילך ובשביל אלו שרוצים לעשות הובלות במדינתנו.

    November 7, 2011 at 3:01 pm

  84. Amazing work you did here, I’m happy I’ve found this site!

    November 7, 2011 at 7:17 pm

  85. Can I use some of the content from your site on mine? I will make sure to link back to it 🙂

    November 7, 2011 at 11:32 pm

  86. you’re in point of fact a just right webmaster. The web site loading speed is incredible. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you have done a magnificent job in this subject!

    November 8, 2011 at 12:12 am

  87. Wow, amazing weblog format! How long have you been running a blog for? you made running a blog glance easy. The full glance of your web site is excellent, as smartly as the content!

    November 8, 2011 at 2:40 am

  88. I too think thus, perfectly composed post! .

    November 8, 2011 at 8:04 am

  89. I am forever thought about this, thankyou for posting .

    November 8, 2011 at 10:53 am

  90. Hi there coming from Montreal!! I am tired (blank) (blank) at work so I chosen to read your web blog on my little iphone 3gs for the period of lunch break. I really enjoy the details you offer here and also can not wait to take a look when I go back home. I am shocked at just how fast the weblog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using Wi-fi, just 3rd generation .. Well, wonderful web site!

    November 8, 2011 at 12:23 pm

  91. Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board and I to find It really useful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to present something again and aid others like you helped me.

    November 8, 2011 at 12:51 pm

  92. Cool post indeed. My girlfriend has been waiting for this information.

    November 8, 2011 at 1:32 pm

  93. I am typically to running a blog and i actually respect your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and hold checking for brand spanking new information.

    November 8, 2011 at 2:57 pm

  94. Its such as you read my mind! You appear to understand a lot approximately this, like you wrote the e book in it or something. I believe that you could do with some percent to force the message home a bit, however instead of that, that is wonderful blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

    November 8, 2011 at 4:54 pm

  95. כדאי לקחת בחשבון שכאן ההובלות הן בהחלט איכותיית. רצוי לא לשכוח את כל ההובלות האלה!

    November 8, 2011 at 5:40 pm

  96. Hey there! I found your web-site utilizing google. That’s an extremely intelligently created article. I will certainly boomark it and come back to read a lot more of your useful info. Thanks a ton for your post.

    November 8, 2011 at 6:04 pm

  97. This really answered my drawback, thank you!

    November 8, 2011 at 7:22 pm

  98. Excellent post. I will pass it to my friends.

    November 8, 2011 at 9:18 pm

  99. Awesome article it is without doubt. My mother has been awaiting for this tips.

    November 8, 2011 at 9:26 pm

  100. How to make your dick grow big

    There is one method that work well to make you penis forever even bigger and it’s not just an item. It’s just some techniques that adult males all over the world have used for thousands of years to generate by themselves extended and fuller. Find what men that learn there techniques are not looking for you to know no matter what.

    November 8, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  101. I can see that you are are genuinely passionate about this! I am trying to build my own website and youve helped me with some great information.

    November 9, 2011 at 2:49 am

  102. ios 5 jailbreak

    Dear friend. I truly just like your posting and your current web page all in all! That write-up is really plainly composed and without difficulty understandable. Your WordPress style is awesome as well! Would be awesome to discover exactly where My partner and i are able obtain this. Please hold up the very good work. We all need much more this kind of website owners just like you on the web and much less spammers. Wonderful man!

    November 9, 2011 at 6:48 am

  103. Leora Maccutcheon

    Thankyou for all your efforts that you have put in this. very interesting information.

    November 9, 2011 at 8:13 am

  104. ecn fx

    I’m typically to blogging and i really recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your web site and keep checking for new information.

    November 9, 2011 at 8:32 am

  105. You made some good points there. I looked on the internet for the subject matter and found most people will go along with with your blog.

    November 19, 2012 at 12:10 am

Leave a Reply

