Thoughts in the mind of l0oree

Psychology 101- W1A1


GE102.11.14.11.01: 01 Assignment

Lori Schreiner

Professor Kathryn Sellars

Psychology

11-16-2011

Part 1:

            M.D., Ph.D., Ed.D, and Psy.D. are doctorate degrees in psychology with varying clinical and college experiences.  Each includes 4-6 years of college past a Bachelor’s degree.

M.D. is a Medical Doctor.  Psychiatrists are usually medical doctors that have 6-8 years of college experience along with clinical residency experience. They specialize in mental disorders.  Medical doctors can diagnose medical conditions and prescribe medications.

Ph.D. is a Doctor of Philosophy. This is a traditional academic doctorate.  A psychologist can have this degree.  Psychologists with this degree specialize in a particular pathway. They may choose clinical psychology, counseling psychology or school psychology or just plain psychology.  Clinical focuses on clinical and practice. Counseling focuses on practice in less pathological populations.  School focuses on school counseling.  Most experimental and social psychologists have just a plain psychology Ph.D.

Ed.D. is a Doctor of Education.  This is also an academic doctorate.   A  psychologist or an educational administrator can have this degree.

Psy.D. is a Doctor of Psychology.  This is a clinical degree that places more emphasis on practice than research.  This program developed to train practitioners that keep up with research but do not do much research.  This is the most recent degree that started in 1973. (Holmes, L. (2010, June 01). What do the letters mean after the name?. Retrieved November 17, 2011 from http://mentalhealth.about.com/cs/psychotherapy/a/initials.htm)

All these degrees work towards the goal of influencing behavior.  If stopped at this point, to be human is to be a psychologist due to we all influence someone else whether intentionally or accidentally.  Psychologists go further than just influencing behavior.  They are experts in the predictable outcome of a behavior.  They have each spent many years studying through research using scientific methods and in practice counseling.

Part 2

A psychiatrist can be a M.D. with an emphasis on mental disorders.  To qualify you must have an undergraduate psychology degree, complete medical school, endure post-graduate medical residency, then take licensure exams.

I am not interested in working as an M.D., although, I have much admiration for those that do.  If I were to choose one of the psychological fortes this would be my pick.  I like psychiatrist because they can prescribe medications, interpret lab values and imaging results.  I believe in the holistic approach of all medical conditions.  When I write the general goal to all my patients on their care plan, I state,” Goal: to maintain homeostasis while on dialysis at DAVITA.”  I know everyone involved in the care leads up to the holistic approach, but it seems that the M.D. is the most equipped with the knowledge

GE102.11.14.11.01: 01 Assignment

Lori Schreiner

Professor Kathryn Sellars

Psychology

11-16-2011

base to do the most.  The reason I am not interested in working as a psychiatrist some day is because I am 41 years old and love my job as a nurse J

The best part of working in this field would be seeing the end results of happy well-adjusted patients thriving.

The worst part of working in this field would be to see the hurt, pain, abuse that patients endured before the thriving part.

 

8 responses

  1. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

    July 22, 2012 at 10:16 pm

  2. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

    July 27, 2012 at 7:04 am

  3. Perhaps there is some thing not right with the site? The images on the topmost look a little messed up. Nice blog post nevertheless, continue the great work you are doing here!

    July 27, 2012 at 7:05 am

  4. {A

    I just like the helpful info you provide to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check once more right here frequently. I¡¯m fairly certain I¡¯ll be informed a lot of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

    July 29, 2012 at 11:34 am

  5. You have brought up a very fantastic points , appreciate it for the post.

    July 29, 2012 at 11:35 am

  6. Thanks a great deal for your article. Truly looking forward to read more. Will certainly read on.

    July 31, 2012 at 2:15 am

  7. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

    November 18, 2012 at 8:25 pm

  8. cms website

    I wish to show my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular condition. Right after scouting throughout the internet and meeting advice that were not helpful, I thought my entire life was well over. Being alive without the strategies to the problems you have resolved by means of this site is a serious case, as well as those that would have in a negative way damaged my entire career if I hadn’t noticed your blog. Your personal know-how and kindness in taking care of the whole lot was precious. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come across such a solution like this. I’m able to now look forward to my future. Thank you so much for the high quality and results-oriented help. I won’t hesitate to propose your site to any individual who needs direction about this topic.

    November 20, 2012 at 11:17 am

Leave a Reply

