Thoughts in the mind of l0oree

Discussion Asignment 3A”Cognition/Memory is Learning Behavior” 11/29/11


I did the B topic first so this one basically leaves off from that post due to memory/cognition is the learning part seems would go first but how the mind works actually would make more since for it to be after.

I went to sleep on the vicarious learning way that I learn language. Through associations my mind memorizes speech, words all that so lightning fast the neurons are synapsing and creating new pathways that is one reason I think maybe I do not dream.  My mind is definitely thinking as it sleeps. It is going way too fast to remember or does not need to remember. I am consciously wide awake eyes closed with the REM. I can reach up and feel my eyes moving under my lids.

The memory works in three stages. The senses put it in short-term then back to the long term and with those you can do the top down processing. The mind can store those sensations some forever and they are not needed.  Next when new stimulus’s real/imaginary enter into the mix the mind brings forth what it needs from the long term back to the short term to then create more memories. My mind is choosing what to block out of memory for the moment to learn a new task or subject and for it to make sense with me and others who are communicating with me because my mind the most basic desire for me is to be understood respected, cared for, loved.  Yes, I guess you could say that love is the major key into the whole mind process.  Other emotions control your actions too. Love is the one that I want to stay in my mind. I have seen hate and it’s not pretty at all.

An example of the memory being stored and recalled is with learning math. Repeatedly over and over you do the math and then your mind will just automatically know how to calculate seemly without even thinking. It’s not that it’s not even thinking it’s that it can go on now past the 2+2=4 and recall that information when needed and go further. It’s going so fast you do not even notice. I can do 10 step algebraic equations with only 3 steps due to my mind was conditioned with memories to do so.  I took all the math in school and pages of homework every day. I would do the even and the odd homework even though the odd the answers were in the back of the book. I loved the math. After doing so many repetitiously and the mind has learned the principles for why and how, you can do the math skipping some steps. BTW I have not read the memory chapter yet but I wanted to write this incase I forget.  Its like I just woke up and had to write it down. I call that an ahah moment.

Delete | Reply

Ratings: 5 / 10

Re: Cognition/Memory is learning behavior

by KATHRYN SELLERS – Wednesday, 30 November 2011, 02:21 PM EST

  Lori:

Who knew a great sleep aid was a lecture on vicarious learning.

How do you use your memory to help you retain academic material? What are your best practices?

Response to Weekly Topic: Your response is thoughtful and original. You are not merely repeating what others are saying. You are thinking for yourself.

SEE YOUR GRADE IN THE GRADE SHEET POINTS POSSIBLE = 5

Meaningful Response to a peer: You do more than simply say “great idea” or “I agree”. Instead you have carefully thought about the post of another and have responded thoughtfully.

SEE YOUR GRADE IN THE GRADE SHEET POINTS POSSIBLE = 5

Reply

Re: Cognition/Memory is learning behavior

by Lori Schreiner – Thursday, 01 December 2011, 10:11 PM EST

  First I read the assignments and discussion. What questions are asked? Then I listen to the lecture. Next read the chapters. Next the discussions. Write in my own words what this all means. With it being a discussion maybe someone else might have another view, I could be wrong. To talk to others is a big help. Then I do the flashcards and then test while looking at the lecture notes. Lastly the assignment, its the assignment that lets me know I understand and am ready to go further.

Delete | Reply

9 responses

  1. gulrotkake lavkarbo Hrm, Not the best post unfortunately. Sorry to be so blunt! You should try some Norwegian carrot cake ( gulrotkake lavkarbo ) to cheer you up instead.

    December 18, 2011 at 6:20 am

  2. habib

    Hi,
    Thanks for your nice information Discussion Asignment 3A”Cognition/Memory is Learning Behavior”. I like it.

    Thanks.

    December 19, 2011 at 12:44 am

  3. habib

    Hi,
    Thanks for your nice information Discussion Asignment 3A”Cognition/Memory is Learning Behavior. I like it.

    Thanks.

    December 19, 2011 at 12:45 am

  4. tekst na podryw śmieszne

    Good web site! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

    December 20, 2011 at 9:36 am

  5. I was looking for this the other day. i dont usually post in forums but i wanted to say thank you!

    December 21, 2011 at 1:33 pm

  6. kurs podrywania warszawa

    Hey, My husband and i truly your websites!! It is actually a fine posting. All of us look forward to browsing a lot more helpful subjects that you’ll be submitting within the forthcoming. We’ve realized a ton with this. Thanks a bunch. -Clorinda Pavletic

    December 29, 2011 at 7:50 am

  7. Cary Hertz

    Thanks for your submission, previously interesting and compelling. I discovered my way here through Google, I am going to get back another time 🙂

    January 5, 2012 at 5:26 pm

  8. Duane Dambakly

    Hi there mates, how is the whole thing, and what you wish for to say on the topic of this article, in my view its actually remarkable in support of me.

    January 8, 2012 at 6:54 pm

  9. Hello.This article was extremely motivating, especially because I was investigating for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

    January 9, 2012 at 7:53 pm

Leave a Reply

