Thoughts in the mind of l0oree

Advance Composition discussion


The Gettysburg Address Analysis

Schreiner, Lori

04/12/2012

0

Gettysburg Address Analysis

Applying five motives

What I find most interesting about the Gettysburg Address is the theme of birth along with the contrast of death. The beginning implies the birth of a new nation. “Conceived in liberty” is the start of the nation in the past. Now is currently contemplating if the liberties still exist by stating “any nation so conceived and so dedicated can long endure”. The very next sentence ties this together stating,” We are met on the great battlefield of that war.” The next sentence brings the focus to death with the words “Final resting place” and “gave their lives” and at the end of that very sentence stresses the word live stating “that that nation might live”. The next sentence repeats “can not” three times in the one sentence. The next sentence has life and death in the same sentence. This sentence contrast “living and dead” and also contrast “add or detract”. The next sentence takes a pause by using words “long remember” “never forget”. After the sentence that pauses, brings me to want to move forward by the use of the word “living”. This sentence also implies can do three times by using the adverbs “for us”, “to be”, and “here to”. The end of this sentence punctuates “us the living” at the beginning stating “nobly advanced”. The last sentence ties together that the honored dead should not have died in vain contrasted with how they won’t die in vain as a birth of a new nation, “a new birth of freedom”.

“post your analysis of which repetition, strand, or binary is most important for understanding what it is you are observing.”

The most important in my analysis

Binary: 1. living and the dead, 2. far above/poor power, 3. add/detract

Repetition:” We can not” repeated 3 times. People repeated 3 times

Strand: the most important strand is the first one ” gave their lives that that nation might live” this strand includes repetition with” that that” and also the lives/live and binary “gave their lives” meaning dead vs. “live” this first strand is genius in my eyes.

Last sentence is a string of strands with three of them starting with the word that.

This whole speech is pure genius, I could probably write a 5 page paper on this one speech.

Yes, I see that also that the President includes everyone in using we the people, living and dead, past and present. He unites everybody and then wants everyone to remember this war to never repeat this to always move forward reaching for a better tomorrow. We can by remembering this past become better in the future.

 

19 responses

  1. I just like the helpful info you provide to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and check once more right here frequently. I¡¯m fairly certain I¡¯ll be informed a lot of new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

    July 16, 2012 at 12:24 pm

  2. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back in the future. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice day!

    July 17, 2012 at 7:19 am

  3. What you said made a lot of sense. But, think about this, what if you added a little content? I mean, I dont want to tell you how to run your blog, but what if you added something to maybe get peoples attention? Just like a video or a picture or two to get people excited about what youve got to say. In my opinion, it would make your blog come to life a little bit.

    July 22, 2012 at 10:18 pm

  4. I do not usually answer posts but I am going to in this case, great information¡­ I will certainly bookmark your site. Keep up the good operate!

    July 22, 2012 at 10:19 pm

  5. I simply couldn¡¯t depart your web site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual information an individual supply in your guests? Is gonna be again frequently in order to investigate cross-check new posts

    July 27, 2012 at 7:05 am

  6. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored material stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this increase.

    July 27, 2012 at 7:06 am

  7. Only wanna tell that this is extremely helpful, Thanks for taking your time to write this.

    July 30, 2012 at 3:15 pm

  8. “Also, many missionary children resent some time they spend away from their parents, and they resent the mission operate that took their parents away from them. New Tribes has often been aware of the and has been sensitive to their families.” NOT TRUE. NTM has not generally been sensitive to this! Were it not for the brave Fanda kids who put it out there NTM would still be covering up the horrendous pain and damage done to children at their boarding schools. Breaking friends and family ties is not a christian value. Seeing your parents to get a bit of respite for the parents to obtain away from the rigors of language learning or whatever is not called raising your child. Kids were second, even third, on the list of important things in the NTM I lived under.

    August 10, 2012 at 3:00 am

  9. Wow what a pleasant place,I have learned a lot from your blog here, And i will explain to my mates about this web site, Keep on planning,my friend, Many thanks for sharing

    August 10, 2012 at 3:56 am

  10. Solomon is not free 😦

    August 10, 2012 at 6:30 am

  11. Alright….my goal for this week……Gosh, so many things to do! Ok, my goal is to have my sewing room cleaned away from anything that isn’t sewing/crafting. Its been a WIP for about a month and its so cluttered I won’t be able to even sew in it! (my second goal is to start quilting the new baby quilt for my nephew due next month. Its layered and pinned, so just needs to be quilted! If We have time. After the sewing room is done!)

    August 10, 2012 at 7:52 am

  12. Pat on the back again…

    August 10, 2012 at 1:08 pm

  13. What is so Bad about them ?

    August 10, 2012 at 1:45 pm

  14. Good review! This is exactly the type of blog post that needs to be shared around the internet. Shame on the Google for not positioning this blog post higher!

    August 13, 2012 at 3:50 am

  15. wow, amazing! thanks so much for all your effort in posting this.

    August 13, 2012 at 3:50 am

  16. Rather good posting. I just stumbled upon your web site and wanted to say that I have enjoyed flicking through your blog and discussions. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feed if you’ve got one (just got to find it first) and I hope to read your blog again.

    August 13, 2012 at 3:50 am

  17. Hi there! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thanks

    August 13, 2012 at 10:36 am

  18. Hi! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thank you

    August 13, 2012 at 10:44 am

  19. Thanks for these tips.you have explained it in detail .

    September 30, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Leave a Reply

