Thoughts in the mind of l0oree

Advanced Composition


 

 

God’s Will

Analytical Writing

5/16/2012

By Lori Schreiner

I am attracted to “God’s Will” by Martina McBride because of the use of metaphors.  Her use of a boy with the last name of a verb will that can also be used as a noun is what allows me to see this as a metaphor. You can interchange the words God’s will with love, and it becomes clearer.   God wills good things for my life that are most of the time unexpected.   I think I will learn after reading this song that God’s will is love.

The song “God’s Will” by Martina McBride is one of my favorites.  It makes me think of how God’s will, love, is so simple to find right in front of us.  We search, wonder and think about  God’s will in our life.  We do this only to discover all along God’s will is love.   God’s will, love, does not always come in the shape and form that we expect. “He was dressed as a bag of leaves” God’s Will, love, does not always come at the time we expect. “I met God’s Will on a Halloween night” God’s will, love, is always happy to see you no matter what the circumstances. “His smile was as bright as the August sun” God’s will, love, is different from the norm. “He don’t do the things that the other kids do” When you are in God’s will, love; you will be happy.  “And we’d all laugh like I hadn’t laughed since I don’t know when” You discover God’s will, love, after you have found it not before or after.

God’s will is love.  It is a moment that you just know in your heart.  That moment of discovery is when the boy writes on a napkin in crayon red me and God love you.  God’s will, love, is a gift that might not last forever.  Humans are not perfect.  The love was right there the whole time and recognizable at that one moment. It happened to where there was no time to share the news of finding it. “I never got to tell her that the boy showed me the truth.”

This song compares God’s will to a handicapped boy named will.  God’s will is love.  Love for our life is not perfect as we as humans are not perfect.  God’s will, love, does not meet man’s standards but God’s standards.  Love is God’s will.  Love is not something that money can buy, but is a gift to be treasured.  “each day that I have him”LOVE”well it’s just another gift”

 

God’s Will lyrics

I met God’s Will on a Halloween night
He was dressed as a bag of leaves
It hid the braces on his legs at first

His smile was as bright as the August sun
When he looked at me
As he struggled down the driveway, it almost
Made me hurt

Will don’t walk too good
Will don’t talk too good
He won’t do the things that the other kids do,
In our neighborhood

[Chorus:]
I’ve been searchin’, wonderin’, thinkin’
Lost and lookin’ all my life
I’ve been wounded, jaded, loved and hated
I’ve wrestled wrong and right
He was a boy without a father
And his mother’s miracle
I’ve been readin’, writin’, prayin’, fightin’
I guess I would be still
Yeah, that was until
I knew God’s Will

Will’s mom had to work two jobs
We’d watch him when she had to work late
And we’d all laugh like I hadn’t laughed
Since I don’t know when

Hey Jude was his favorite song
At dinner he’d ask to pray
And then he’d pray for everybody in the world but him

[Chorus]

Before they moved to California
His mother said, they didn’t think he’d live
And she said each day that I have him, well it’s just
another gift
And I never got to tell her, that the boy
Showed me the truth
In crayon red, on notebook paper, he’d written
Me and God love you

I’ve been searchin’, prayin’, wounded, jaded
I guess I would be still
Yeah that was until…
I met God’s Will on a Halloween night
He was dressed as a bag of leaves

Reference

Song God’s Will by Martina McBride http://www.elyrics.net/inc/vidplay.php, retrieved 5/16/2012

23 responses

  1. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger. I have joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

    July 19, 2012 at 3:14 pm

  2. Wow, incredible weblog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you make running a blog look easy. The full glance of your web site is wonderful, let alone the content!

    July 19, 2012 at 3:14 pm

  3. Very good info can be found on this web site.

    July 21, 2012 at 8:54 am

  4. I such as this site much, saved in order to fav. Nostalgia is not what it used to be. by Peter De Vries.

    July 22, 2012 at 10:18 pm

  5. Wow! This can be one particular of the most helpful blogs We have ever arrive across on this subject. Basically Fantastic. I¡¯m also an expert in this topic therefore I can understand your effort.

    July 22, 2012 at 10:18 pm

  6. Thanks a great deal for your article. Truly looking forward to read more. Will certainly read on.

    July 22, 2012 at 10:18 pm

  7. I such as this site much, saved in order to fav. Nostalgia is not what it used to be. by Peter De Vries.

    July 23, 2012 at 11:58 pm

  8. magazine is a kind of thing about which i want a lot of information, and i am very thankful of this site which gives me lot of information regarding jrf. i loved it.http://www.busquemail.com.br

    August 1, 2012 at 5:10 pm

  9. Thank you so much. A lot of help. I especially much like the roll-over description. And this little pen icon in the reply box.

    August 10, 2012 at 3:12 am

  10. Smoking is extremely addicting due to the levels of nicotine that are in cigarettes and rarely do we want to admit or see the damage we cause to ourselves and others by smoking. They also contain many harmful chemicals which add into the poison of our system. Growing up within a household I watched my father smoke and cough and choke and just couldn’t figure out why you would do that to yourself.

    August 10, 2012 at 3:45 am

  11. Terrific Giveaway I tweeted and here’s my url https://twitter.com/#!/Lovin_LivinLyfe/status/197550903786610689

    August 10, 2012 at 3:52 am

  12. Finished my Infographic Resume, check it out please!

    August 10, 2012 at 3:53 am

  13. I looked on the internet to the topic and uncovered most people today will go along with together with your website

    August 10, 2012 at 12:06 pm

  14. Your site offers a lot of unique insights and information. I haven’t really thought about it like that.

    August 12, 2012 at 8:31 am

  15. I just added this web site to my rss reader, excellent stuff. Cannot get enough!

    August 13, 2012 at 3:50 am

  16. I’ve recently started a blog, and the information you offer on this site has helped me greatly. Thank you for all of your time & work.

    August 13, 2012 at 3:50 am

  17. “Hey, thanks for the blog article.Really thank you! Will read on…”

    August 13, 2012 at 3:50 am

  18. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this outstanding blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

    August 13, 2012 at 9:49 am

  19. Hi there! I realize this is sort of off-topic but I needed to ask. Does operating a well-established website such as yours require a large amount of work? I’m brand new to blogging but I do write in my diary everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any kind of ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    August 13, 2012 at 9:59 am

  20. Wonderful blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely confused .. Any ideas? Kudos!

    August 13, 2012 at 10:34 am

  21. Good post but I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Many thanks!

    August 13, 2012 at 10:44 am

  22. WEBDESGIN

    naturally like your web site but you need to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I to find it very bothersome to inform the truth nevertheless I¡¦ll definitely come back again.

    November 20, 2012 at 9:55 pm

  23. webdesign

    Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this info. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and web and this is really annoying. A good website with interesting content, this is what I need. Thank you for keeping this website, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Cant find it.

    November 20, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Leave a Reply

