Thoughts in the mind of a scatter brained workaholic single mom

Conservation Of Resources Discussion


Critics of predictions based on “Peak Oil” Theory raise several issues that they contend will affect the production of oil. These include the use of petroleum substitutes (biofuels, for example), introduction of energy conservation technologies (hybrid cars), discovery of new reserves (opening the west bank of Greenland to oil exploration), and a more friendly climate among politicians and the public to oil producers (advocates of “drill baby drill”).

Describe one or two ways in which the US government subsidies might affect the rate of production for petroleum within the US. Should the US use tax dollars to increase subsidies and thereby encourage more oil exploration and petroleum production associated with new drilling technologies? Or might this be counter-productive and be detrimental to the energy industry overall? Explain your reasoning.

I think it would be detrimental to encourage more drilling and more oil exploration. I think the oil we have should be used at a slower rate. This is hard to slow the rate down when the world population is growing exponentially. I am very good with math and numbers and do not have to be a rocket scientist to see that we need alternatives to the oil industry. The problem with the alternatives are that none of the alternatives to date can possibly keep up with the demand of how much oil is currently being used or be as cheap as oil. So my solution is educate our youth and make science so interesting to them that they may discover better solutions that are safe. The only ways I see to slow the rate down are to increase prices of the oil and restrict drill baby drill. These are such hard decisions to make but when looking into the eyes of your children the decision is easier. Maybe my son can learn how to do something with nuclear fusion that we do not know about yet, or someone elses child. Maybe he can learn how to make a survivable ecosystem in outerspace. I give my son the internet and all the wealth of information I can afford. Books by the thousands I have bought for him. Money and subsidies should be given for experimental research in new technologies.

I think it would be detrimental to encourage more drilling and more oil exploration. I think the oil we have should be used at a slower rate. This is hard to slow the rate down when the world population is growing exponentially. I am very good with math and numbers and do not have to be a rocket scientist to see that we need alternatives to the oil industry. The problem with the alternatives are that none of the alternatives to date can possibly keep up with the demand of how much oil is currently being used or be as cheap as oil. So my solution is educate our youth and make science so interesting to them that they may discover better solutions that are safe. The only ways I see to slow the rate down are to increase prices of the oil and restrict drill baby drill. These are such hard decisions to make but when looking into the eyes of your children the decision is easier. Maybe my son can learn how to do something with nuclear fusion that we do not know about yet, or someone elses child. Maybe he can learn how to make a survivable ecosystem in outerspace. I give my son the internet and all the wealth of information I can afford. Books by the thousands I have bought for him. Money and subsidies should be given for experimental research in new technologies.

The hardest part of bringing a new idea foward is backing and funding. That is why the subsidies should go for innovation and new things not the old that are making profits already. If a company is making profits, they should not continue to get help.

This not only goes for new energy but other things as well. Its not that scientist have not discovered things to make life better for us like new medicines and things that can do more. It’s those things are hard to get because they are very expensive because a drug company has to fund all the testing then take a chance that it will work and be out millions if it doesn’t work..

My son had an idea that each country goes before the UN with ideas. The UN backs the idea and that scientist has X amount of years to find the cure or invention getting paid subsidies etc.; and all along the way, have to report to the UN showing progress in the idea. If they are not shown to make progress or nothing happens, then stop funding and fund a different scientist. Then after the invention or cure is found, the UN funds for it to be put into place. Every country involved in the UN gets the new invention or cure. The subsidies would be worldwide not just here because the planet is at stake not just our one little corner of it. This would make it fairer also because it would be not who you know that gets you the subsidy or the same ones getting it over and over. It would be picked from experts worldwide. Kinda like the IB high school diploma, my son’s homework is sent to other countries to be graded and is completely unbiased due to the grader has never met or seen my son at all. They do not know if he worked a little time on the project or a long time. They only judge the work on its own merit.

I believe they cannot ever get rid of the oil subsidies as long as we use oil. The subsidies help to make it a cheaper price at the pump when the reserves are being used waiting on fresh oil to start again. The price will climb the more reserves we use though. It must be this way also to not run out of oil all together. The subsidies also help those little countries that fight and go to war over the oil not to fight so much. It’s just a big mess. The best thing isfor us to find other energy sources. Leave what oil we have in the ground and find alternatives.

I used to work for a Senator that was also the owner of a oil company. He was chairman of the ways and means committee, chairman of the welfare committee, chairmen of the transportaion committee, etc….

With him having so much power he introduce laws to make it impossible to know what the oil company even does. The laws were passed to where nothing about his business can be publicly disclosed. If you try to even research this senator on the internet through wikapedia even you can not find information on what laws he even created or that he was even a senator. They do have much power. It is almost scary. I will just say the state is Arkansas.

Yes he used his power as a senator to introduce his legislation because he was the chairman of the committee that decides what bills get to be even discussed. If he does not want to discuss a bill it won’t even get mentioned, but you can bet your bottom dollar anything he wanted discussed was discussed. I was his personal secretary and seen first-hand how the system works for one very powerful senator. It is all in what you can do for the next person. And the person with the power they want to give everything too and the people that give get more. I seen first-hand letters filed in his personal senator files.. Letters of can you please get me the position of prosecuting attorney??? And yes that person that wrote and asked this of him was the prosecuting attorney. Is not this job an elected position?

This employment position of mine discouraged me from ever voting in my life.

 

 

7 responses

  1. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I¡¯m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the last part I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    July 19, 2012 at 3:14 pm

  2. Pretty part of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to say that I get in fact loved account your weblog posts. Anyway I¡¯ll be subscribing on your augment and even I fulfillment you get entry to consistently fast.

    July 21, 2012 at 8:54 am

  3. I¡¯ve also been thinking the identical thing myself lately. Grateful to see another person on the same wavelength! Nice article.

    July 23, 2012 at 11:57 pm

  4. Thanks a great deal for your article. Truly looking forward to read more. Will certainly read on.

    July 23, 2012 at 11:57 pm

  5. Hello presently there. I found your site using bing. This generally is a very well crafted article. I shall be bound for you to bookmark this and application discover more of one¡¯s useful data. Was looking for post. I¡¯ll definitely return.

    July 27, 2012 at 7:06 am

  6. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will remember to bookmark your blog and will come back in the future. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great posts, have a nice day!

    July 27, 2012 at 7:06 am

  7. webdesign

    Thanks for sharing excellent informations. Your website is so cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you perceive this subject. Bookmarked this website page, will come back for more articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found simply the information I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t come across. What a great website.

    November 21, 2012 at 3:07 am

Leave a Reply

