Thoughts in the mind of l0oree

Advanced Composition discussion


In the essay, Assimilation American Style, by Peter Stalins, the pitch is that America in a sense is not a melting pot due to the freedoms to maintain and have the rights of your native culture. So each culture maintains their own ethnicity through laws in place to rightfully practice their ways. He argues that with no melting there is not in a sense an “American” culture only different ethnic societies. At the end Stalins contemplates that to fit in a group you need to conform to the majority.

In the essay, The Fearof Losing a Culture, by Richard Rodriguez, the pitch is that Hispanics have assimilated until their original culture is becoming unknown. You are finding more and more of the Mexican Americans in movies, comedy, plays, music, etc… Not only is the original culture becoming lost Mexicans are putting there mark into the melting pot. Rodriguez complaints the point that Mexicans had experienced melting in Mexico before arriving to America, and that Mexicans come here for niceties that are not found in Mexico. They like the nice things here and melt into the pot easily.

When reading Rodriguez’s essay, I surmised that he is concerned that the identity is already lost all together of Indian and Spanish. That already the Mexican is both cultures. That when looking at the Mexican already you cannot tell which one is the most dominate. The Mexican learned to assimilate well before arriving to United States. Now comes to US for nicer things and loses more culture easily.

 

 

 

10 responses

  1. Looking regarding wedded seeking single web-site, you¡¯ve go to a good option. go here after which enroll in completely free.

    July 23, 2012 at 11:57 pm

  2. I have read some of the articles on your own website today, and I enjoy your style of blogging. I included it in order to my favorites web log list and you will be checking rear soon. Please take a look at my site also and allow me to know what we think.

    July 27, 2012 at 7:06 am

  3. I’ve an appointment tomorrow and im super nervous, Im just wondering what i have to do and how it will go…
    I hope for your most effective!

    August 10, 2012 at 12:33 pm

  4. Superb put up, I as a final point fixed my Commentors issue at my blog. Thanks for explaining

    August 10, 2012 at 1:28 pm

  5. Awesome post, I am def going to subscribe to your blog.

    August 11, 2012 at 8:23 am

  6. You can definitely see your enthusiasm in the work you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren?¯t afraid to say how they believe. Always go after your heart.

    August 12, 2012 at 8:20 am

  7. I totally agree with all your thoughts you said in your article, especially at the beggining of your article. Thank you, your post is very useful as always.

    August 13, 2012 at 3:50 am

  8. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks a lot

    August 13, 2012 at 10:34 am

  9. You completed a number of nice points there. I did a search on the subject and found a good number of people will consent with your blog.

    November 19, 2012 at 3:19 am

  10. web design

    Wonderful work! That is the kind of info that should be shared across the web. Shame on the search engines for no longer positioning this put up upper! Come on over and visit my web site . Thanks =)

    November 20, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Leave a comment